Larps and the Health and Safety at Work Act 2015

In the backstage version of her to-do list post, Mel raised the issue of the new Health and Safety at Work Act 2015:

Figuring out for sure and proper how we fit into the new ACC legislation (This new legislation is scary and involves the phrase “personal financial liability”, so it’s important.) Currently, it LOOKS like NZLARPS is fine so long as we never employ anyone (does Koha count?) but private events are a bit more dodgy. More work needed.

Disclaimer: I Am Not A Lawyer. But I can read the law, plus policy documents and advice, and I’m fairly confident on where we stand on this. TL;DR: NZLARPS is fine. NZLARPS has also sought legal advice to clarify the position of independent games, and they are probably fine too if they are explicitly non-profit (see below). Those who are uncertain about their position should seek independent legal advice.

The Health and Safety at Work Act 2015 is there to protect people in the workplace and make employers and business operators protect their workers and the public from risks. It imposes a primary duty of care on employers, requires workplaces to be free of risk, and requires workers and visitors to workplaces to take reasonable care of their health and safety and not endanger others. There are large fines for failing to comply with these duties.

The Act introduces a new concept, a “person conducting a business or undertaking” (PCBU), and all of the duties under the Act are imposed on or by reference to PCBUs. However, the definition of a PCBU explicitly excludes “volunteer associations”, defined as

a group of volunteers (whether incorporated or unincorporated) working together for 1 or more community purposes where none of the volunteers, whether alone or jointly with any other volunteers, employs any person to carry out work for the volunteer association.